Community Engagement Standards

The National Standards for Community Engagement are an essential part of the HELP Project Management toolkit, which provides an objective framework for ensuring community engagement and “buy – in” to any Project.

These self – regulated standards define the elements, processes, and evidence trails, involved in any community activity.

They are useful in supplying a matrix of reference points for action, which mesh with the funding criteria of many funding bodies, and thereby ensuring rigour and detail in Project Management activities within a community context.

The Standards will be extremely valuable in describing and defining the final evaluation and reporting phases of each Project.

These standards are also vital when making additional funding applications, as they ensure the maximum scope of community benefits, and involvement, and can be used for establishing a sound base for Social Enterprise businesses.

They also help to provide a record of individual and group participation, which can lead to accreditation for staff, volunteers and service users.

The Ten Principles of National Engagement:

  • Involvement
  • Support
  • Planning
  • Methods
  • Working Together
  • Sharing Information
  • Working with Others
  • Improvement
  • Feedback
  • Monitoring and Evaluation.

The Standards: 

 Are in line with local development plans, and other community initiatives

  • Maximise opportunities for individuals and groups, with a focus on people aged 50+ and adults with learning and physical disabilities.
  • Are reflected in Visit Scotland, and Historic Scotland criteria for accreditation

  1. Provide an integrated “umbrella” approach to local heritage and community groups for community benefit.

Leave A Comment...